Vicent J. Martínez joins the Ministry’s Science, Technology and Innovation Advisory Council

Vicent J. Martínez
Vicent J. Martínez
Vicent J. Martínez, Astronomy and Astrophysics professor of the University of Valencia, has been designated member of the Science, Technology and Innovation Advisory Council (CACTI) of the Science and Innovation Ministry for a 4-year renewable term of office beginning in June 2023. Martínez is one of the thirteen new faces on this advisory council who were announced at the end of April during the 15th meeting of the Science, Technology and Innovation Policy Council (CPCTI), chaired by the minister Diana Morant.

At the last meeting of the CPCTI, held on 27 April, it was agreed to renew the composition of the Advisory Board, taking into account the candidatures received in the public call for expressions of interest made by the Ministry of Science and Innovation. Having assessed all the resumes received, it has been considered that his training and professional experience merit his status as a member of this Advisory Council for Science, Technology and Innovation.

The minister explained that the total number of members of the Science, Technology and Innovation Advisory Council has increased from 18 to 20, as two representatives from civil society have been included, as established in the new Science Act.

The Science, Technology and Innovation Advisory Council (CACTI) is the body for the participation of the scientific and technological community and economic and social agents in matters related to science, technology and innovation.

The functions of the CACTI include advising and informing the Ministry of Science and Innovation on the proposals of the Spanish Strategy for Science, Technology and Innovation (EECTI) and the State Plan for Scientific and Technical Research and Innovation. It also advises the governments of the State and the Autonomous communities of Spain and the Council for Science, Technology and Innovation Policy.

Together with Vicent Josep Martínez, the new members of the CACTI are Mónica García (Ingenio, CSIC-UPV), Manuel Ausaverri (Indra), Shandra Cordobés (Fundación Tecnalia Research & Innovation), Marc Güell (Pompeu Fabra University), Diego Moñux (SILO), Eva Ortega (Spanish National Cancer Research Center), Laura Olcina (Federación Española de Centros Tecnológicos), Josep A, Planell pen University of Catalonia), Nuria San Servando (Fundación para la Transformación de la Rioja), Luis Sanz (Instituto de Políticas y Bienes Públicos) Jon Mikel Zabala-Iturriagagoitia (University of Deusto) and Izabela Zych (University of Cordoba).

Vicent J. Martínez

He is full professor of Astronomy and Astrophysics at the University of Valencia since 1991 and lecturer since 2009. He was director of the Astronomical Observatory for 11 years. His teaching activity earned him in 2011 the Award for Teaching and Dissemination of Physics from the RSEF and the BBVA Foundation and in 2016 the Award for Teaching Excellence from the Board of Trustees of the UV.

He is a founding member of the Spanish Society of Astronomy. In 2017 he was elected coordinator of the Astronomy Infrastructures Network (RIA) by its steering committee, the body that regulates Spain's unique scientific and technical facilities in astronomy.

He investigates the formation and distribution of galaxies. He has published more than 80 articles in high impact journals, with more than 2000 citations, and is the author of two university textbooks and several popular science books that have received various awards. He has been a speaker at numerous international conferences, conducted research stays at centres in Switzerland, France, Holland, Denmark, Italy and the United Kingdom, and given seminars at universities all over the world. He has been principal investigator of Ministry Consolider and GV Prometheus projects.

He believes in the importance of transmitting science to society. This is why he has promoted initiatives such as "El Aula del Cielo". He has given more than a hundred talks, published numerous articles in newspapers, and created the web portal. For this work he received the 2013 José María Savirón Award.